Dive deep into Chakras

In my last article, we looked into Nadis, the energy pathways of our consciousness and its role in our lives. We need to understand the working of 7 Major Chakras or energy centers and how they influence our life and how we can heal them and bring balance to our lives. Let us dive deep into Chakras.

The point where the ida, pingala, and sushumna nadis meet along the spine are called chakras (wheels). There are at least 114  chakras across the human system.  Of which there are seven major chakras: the muladhara chakra or the root chakra, at the base of the spine; the svadhisthana chakra or the Sacral chakra below the navel region; the manipura chakra or the Solar Plexus chakra located at the stomach or upper abdomen region; the anahata chakra the Heart Chakra located at the heart region;  the vishuddha chakra or the Throat Chakra, at the throat region the ajna chakra or Third Eye Chakra, in between the brows, and the sahasrara chakra or the Crown Chakra, at the top of the head. 

Root Chakra

Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine. It makes you feel confident in our ability to withstand challenges.

Location: Base of spine
Element: Earth
Balanced: Safe, secure and grounded.
Blocked:  Threatened, anxious, insecure and unstable.
Overactive: greed, aggressiveness and materialistic nature. 

Ways to heal Root Chakra: 

Root Chakra represents the Earth element. It is vital that you connect with Mother earth. Do yoga, go for walks, get a massage, walk barefoot, all will help to heal this chakra.
Color: wearing or using Red color 

  • Sound: chant beej mantra “LAM” 
  • Crystal: Hematite, Tourmaline, Black Obsidian, Red Coral
  • Yoga pose: Trikonasan, Tree Pose
  • Essential Oil: Patchouli oil, Cedar wood, Sandalwood oil

Sacral Chakra

Sacral Chakra helps us how we relate to our emotions and the emotions of others. It also governs creativity and sensuality.

Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel
Element : Water

Balanced: Creative, passionate, optimistic and healthy libido.

Blocked: not creative, low libido, isolated. 

Overactive: overly emotional, addictive  and compulsive behaviors, sexual dysfunction.

Ways to heal Sacral chakra:

Reconnect with water, go for a swim, sit by a lake or water stream, take a relaxing bath  will help you heal the sacral.

  • Color: wear or use Orange colored outfit or things
  • Sound: chant beej mantra VAM 
  • Crystal: Carnelian, Tiger Eye
  • Yoga pose: Bound Angle Pose
  • Essential Oil: Ylang Ylang oil, Sweet Orange oil

Solar Plexus Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra, controls your confidence and self esteem of a person. 

Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area

Element: Fire

Balanced: Confident and has good self image

Blocked: Shameful, Self doubt, lower self esteem, feeling powerless, inferiority complex

Overactive: Power hungry, superiority complex

Ways to heal Solar Plexus Chakra

Past traumas are stored in the chakras as repressed memories and affect our thought patterns and behaviors. People who may have experienced strict upbringing, bullying or suffered some kind of mental abuse in childhood need to heal the inner child to restore balance to the solar plexus by practicing positive therapy and healing activities. 

  • Color: wear or use Yellow color
  • Sound : chant the beej mantra “Ram”
  • Crystal: Amber, Citrine, Topaz, Yellow Sapphire, Tiger Eye
  • Yoga pose: Boat Pose
  • Essential Oil: Ylang Ylang/Sandalwood

Heart Chakra

The Anahata or heart chakra, is the bridge between the lower chakras and the upper chakras. Lower chakras favor more our material existence while upper Chakras for spiritual well being. It relates to the ability to give and receive love to others and ourselves. 

Location: Center of chest, just above the heart
Element: Air
Balanced: Loving, compassionate and forgiving
Blocked: Hateful, intolerant, not trusting others, jealousy
Overactive: Self sacrificing giving in too much

Ways to heal Heart Chakra

Able to forgive and let go of the past . Avoid judging others and being critical. Appreciate and see the bright side in others. Offering help and being kind will all ways to restore balance in the heart chakra.

  • Color: wear or use green
  • Sound: chant beej mantra Yam
  • Crystal: Rose Quartz, Amazonite, Green Opal, Green Agate
  • Yoga pose: Camel Pose
  • Essential Oil: Lavender/Sandalwood oil

Throat Chakra

The Vishuddha, or throat chakra, give us our ability to express our truth. Someone with a blocked throat chakra you will  have trouble expressing clearly.

Location: Throat

Element: Sound

Balanced: Clear communicator

Blocked: Unable to express, not a good listener

Overactive: Talk loudly and yelling over others

Ways to heal Throat Chakra: 

Connecting with our inner truth with mindfulness or meditation practice will help restore and balance the throat chakra.

Color: wear or use Light Blue/Turquoise

Sound: chant beej mantra “Hum”

Crystal: Aquamarine, Blue Lace Agate, Kyanite, Howlite

Yoga pose: Fish Pose

Essential Oil: Sage/Eucalyptus/ Peppermint Oil

Third Eye Chakra

Third Eye Chakra, controls our ability to connect to intuition, your inner wisdom. 

Location: Forehead between the eyes

Element: Light

Balanced: Intuitive, see vision.

Imbalance:  very logical and you don’t trust easily

Overactive: Nightmares, hallucinations 

Way to heal Throat Chakra:

Connecting to the inner Self and calming one’s mind through meditation practice will help to restore balance of this chakra.

Color: wear or use Dark Blue/Purple

Sound: Chant beej mantra “OM”

(OM is considered to be the primordial sound, which carries the essence of the Universe.)

Crystal: Amethyst, Sodalite, Lapis Lazuli, Azurite, Sapphire

Yoga pose: Child’s Pose, Meditation, Alternate Nostril Breathing (Nadi Shodan)

Essential Oil: Lemon Oil/ Sandalwood Oil

Crown Chakra

Sahasrara, or crown chakra, the highest chakra – a thousand petal lotus flower, sits at the crown of the head, it’s the seat of highest wisdom and Divine consciousness. 

Location: The very top of the head

Element: Divine Consciousness

Balanced: Enlightened, spiritual connection with Higher Self, have deep faith in divine and speak with wisdom

Imbalanced: Depression, less faith 

Overactive: spiritual addiction and dogmatic

Ways to heal the Crown Chakra: 

Meditation and connecting to your inner self will  help restore the balance for this chakra.

Color: wear or use Violet/White

Sound: Chant beej mantra Om 

(OM  is considered to be the primordial sound, which carries the essence of the Universe.)

Essential Oil: Sandalwood oil, Lemon Oil, Lavender, Frankincense oil

Stone: Clear quartz, Moon Stone, Labradorite 

Yoga pose: Headstand, Shavaasan or Corpse pose, Meditation or Alternate Nostril breathing (Nadi Shodhan)

Hope you found the deep dive into Chakras resourceful. You can also watch the video below or on YouTube Channel

Leave a Reply